Road Trip Dementia…


Assalamu alaykum all:
It’s been a long day and I’m loosing my marbles!!!!
I’m loosing everything, couldn’t find my camera, then my phone was lost until I found it in my trouser pocket that I was wearing, after searching the 200 or so pockets I have. It’s pretty hard living in a van with loads of little gadgets, MP3 player + charger, phone + charger, camera + charger, camcorder + charger, laptop + charger, arghhhhhhhhh toooooo many wires.
Unfortunately, it’s the decree of God, but my camcorder decided not to work, so I will not be able to get much footage. It’s a nightmare trying to keep all these devices charged when you have no electricity. I need to get the invertor in the car installed, but it’s just hard finding the opportunity to do it.
Being on this ship requires much isti3ana (seeking refuge in Allah) as there are many doors of haram that a person can enter. Just earlier I was sitting in a non-smoking area of the ferry, on the internet when suddenly the lights went down and the strobes came on and music started blurting out, but alhumdulilah I moved straight away and to a few brothers that were sitting on the other side of the room.
It’s also worth mentioning that not all people on this convoy are practising so you may see things from an individual that you don’t like therefore you have to be very patient.
In the morning we will be landing in Greece around 5ish so it’s an early start tomorrow. It seems definate that we have a starter motor problem and it will have to be fixed, therefore we’ll have to keep push starting it until we get it fixed. Anyway with all the junk we’re eating, we’re in need of the exercise!
JazakumAllah khair
Asalamu Alaykum wr wb 
Abu’Safiyyah
11/12/09
Posted on December 11, 2009, in Updates and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Assalamu’alaykum,

    Jazakallah Khayr for all the updates, really inspiring and makes you appreciate the constant hot food and good snacks that we can get hold of.

    We pray that the ‘yellow submarine’ gets back on track – speedy recovery inshallah. 🙂

    Over and out…

    Amina & Co

    • JazakiAllah khayr Amina, InshAllah we hope the ‘Yellow submarine gets back to normal. Tomorrow we will try and get round to fixing it.

      Take care

      Asalamu Alaykum wr wb

  2. mujahidah and jamilah

    Assalmualkum,
    How are you me and my sister have been looking at this website and its really good mashallah. and actually. My uncle is on this convey his name is tauqir and me and my family will make lots of duas for you and the other brothers.
    From mujahidah (age 11) and muqatilah (age 9)

  3. Assalamu alaikum Layth,

    Loosing your phone, wallet, keys – should be quite used to this – its part of your daily routine innit?? LOL

    Take care and give salaams to J

    P.S really enjoying the blog, feels like we are with you on the journey MashaAllah.

    Umm D

  4. That is sooooo true Umm D ………………….. and you know who is expected to know where they are or has to look for them…………………..yup ME!!

    • AA Umm Dawoud & Umm Safiyyah

      Yeah your right daily routine. I need my P.A here to look after my stuff. Infact I forgot to mention I even lost all my Toiletries. Arghhhhhhhhh Our van is like the bermuda triangle. Because Umm Safiyyah isn’t here I think I will have to blame my brother, J. Who else?

      Salamz

  5. Salam alaykum Mujahida and Jamilah. JazakumAllah khayr for the dua and compliments. Yeah I know your uncle, he’s doing well. MAshAllah I believe he’s benefiting a lot from this trip. Infact we had dinner with him the first night in Brussels. Don’t worry about him, i’m taking care of him.

    Salam alaykum wrwb

  6. mujahidah, jamilah, ghaziyah & Basilah

    salaam,

    I am glad that you are looking after my uncle
    and my dad said can you please give salaam to brother adnaan and to all the other brothers (usman abu mujahidah).

    be strong because all the other muslims need you.

    can you please pass the message to mamu tauqir
    that we miss him and we love him.

    from mujahidah,jamilah,ghaziyah & basilah.

Leave a Reply

